Becoming Jill: Adventures in Adulthood


Chapter 23: In Which I Stop Eating Grain and Learn to Love the Butter
January 31, 2012, 11:49 am
Filed under: Food, Primal | Tags: ,

So, you may have noticed from my last few posts that I stopped eating grain. Why would a sane person do this to themselves, you ask? Well, for me, the answer is quite circuitous, but here’s the summary: because it makes me feel like a new person.

Here are just a few of the things that have happened to me since I stopped eating grain in October, 2011:

  • I’ve lost 38 pounds, nearly effortlessly
  • I have cut my antidepressant medication in half
  • I have completely eliminated the Metformin I took for my blood sugar
  • I have boundless, endless energy
  • My skin is softer, with no more dry patches, even on my elbows
  • My hair is thicker and shinier
  • My face no longer breaks out once a month, if you get my drift
  • The Queen of Sinus Infections hasn’t had even one!
  • I no longer have extreme intestinal distress for months on end
  • I no longer feel like I have been swamped by a wave of exhaustion every afternoon
  • I don’t have to eat every 2-3 hours to keep my blood sugar from dropping
  • In fact, sometimes I go an entire day without eating (but not very often)
  • I no longer have to avoid going to the grocery store at a busy time, because my improved mental health means no more panic attacks
  • My mind feels clear and sharp, instead of tired and fuzzy
  • I sleep better
  • I stopped snoring
  • My lower back, which has hurt constantly since my senior year of high school, hardly even bothers me, even while exercising
  • Need I go on???

In short, stopping eating grain is easily the best thing I have ever done for myself. I feel like it’s given me my life back, and the thing is, I didn’t even know it was possible to feel this way. I thought it was normal to feel half-dead all the time. I knew some of it was depression, but even during times of mental healthiness, I never had much energy. Guess what? Apparently it’s not normal to feel like you are constantly underwater!

As my energy levels have increased, I have started doing more physical activity, just because my body has energy and wants to move. It’s a weird, weird feeling, people. Now I take walks frequently, run up the stairs in my apartment building every single day, and do strength-training exercises every other day. I am gaining muscle along with losing weight, and I feel great while I do it– not like I am on the verge of collapsing, like I always felt during previous attempts at exercise regimens.

So, how did I arrive at the decision to stop eating grain? It’s a bit of a long story, but I’ll try not to ramble too much.

Last summer (2011) I spent spent several extremely hot, extremely humid months in Missouri helping to care for my Venter grandparents. If you have ever taken care of an elderly person, you know it’s a lot of very physical hard work. There’s a lot of sweat involved in changing a grown man’s clothes, bedding, and adult diaper several times a day, and having 100+ temperatures for months didn’t help. In short, all the sweat led to a yeast infection in my armpit, which apparently is a thing. Who knew? Now I do!

Despite repeated attempts with medication to get it to go away, it wasn’t budging, and it was extremely uncomfortable. Also, my stomach was in constant uproar, and I was hardly eating because it produced rather unpleasant results. During a late-night googling session, I read that my real problem might be systemic yeast overgrowth, and everything I was eating was just feeding the yeast. I immediately embarked on an anti-candida diet, which starves off the excessive yeast in your system by eliminating sugars and most grains, and a few other things. Within a day or two of starting this diet, the rash began improving, and eventually went away, never to return! My tummy settled down, and I could eat without fear!

There were a few things I didn’t like about the anti-candida diet. For one, it said no dairy, and it was much easier for me to give up pasta than to give up cheese… It also eliminated other things I really like, such as mushrooms, olives, and chocolate. In the course of scouring the internet for anti-candida-friendly recipes, I came across this thing called the Primal or Paleolithic lifestyle, which seemed fairly similar to anti-candida, but added back some dairy, and those yummy mushrooms, olives, etc. Best of all, you could have dark chocolate and red wine as a sensible treat!

The science behind this lifestyle is based on looking at the diet that humans ate for thousands of years before the agricultural revolution which introduced grain cultivation about 10,000 years ago. Since our hunter-gatherer ancestors evolved without grains for so long, our bodies aren’t adapted to processing them, which causes all kinds of problems. By eliminating them from our diet, our bodies function better. There’s a lot more to it than that, but that’s a simple summary. There are tons of great resources on the web and also in books that can explain the science of it all much better than I can. But here’s what I know: it works for me. If it’s not your thing, that’s fine! I am not here to tell people how to eat– I am simply trying to say: This Changed My Life. Period.

gimme!

So if I don’t eat grain, what do I eat, you might ask? Well, I eat tons and tons of veggies. Some fruit, mostly berries because they are very low-sugar. Some dairy, mostly goat or sheep, because cow dairy and I don’t get along. Healthy, natural fats, like BUTTER (which is awesome, if you didn’t know), olive oil, coconut oil (which deserves it’s very own separate post), and avocados. I wrote previously about my love for guacamole, and boy is it great! Lots of protein: eggs, beef, pork, chicken, oily fish, seafood. Some nuts and seeds for snacks. My favorites are English walnuts, sunflower seeds, macadamia nuts, pecans, and almonds. Since legumes are discouraged for reasons I won’t go into here, I don’t do peanuts or cashews, which is sad, but I have adjusted and discovered a love for walnuts!

So, lots of whole foods, prepared relatively simply. Some people like to do all kinds of fancy Primal-ized baking, like making cake with almond flour and stuff like that, but I figure I would rather just have a little bit of the “real” thing and call it my treat for the day. Which brings me to my favorite thing about Primal! The 80/20 principle recommends that you follow Primal eating for 80% of the time, and then have sensible treats for the 20%. For me, this is enough to keep me from feeling deprived, as there is absolutely nothing you can’t eat in that 20%! Over time, I have come to realize that most of the things I used to really enjoy no longer taste good and make me feel awful, so I don’t get too carried away with the 20% very much anymore. I usually have 2 squares of 85% chocolate and call it good. On the other hand, if I am eating at someone’s house, I will gladly eat what they serve me without feeling like I am “cheating” on my diet (hello, dinner roll!). I never, ever want to turn into that person who imposes her dietary whims on others, so I just go with the flow, and call it my 20% 🙂

In short, this has made me feel great, and I am never going back to the Demon Grain. I ate pasta nearly every day, so this was a big change for me, but you couldn’t pay me to go back. Luckily I have always loved veggies, so that’s easy. It’s taken me a while to get used to eating lots of fat (Primal folks aim for 60% of their calories from healthy fat) after a lifetime of being told that fat is evil. Guess what? Natural, healthy fat is not evil: it’s actually necessary for your body to work properly. Man-made fat is a different story, though. The hardest thing for me has been getting enough protein. I aim for 100 grams a day, and I don’t always make it. I have never been a big meat eater, but I am getting better! Buying the highest quality meat I can afford helps, as it tastes a lot better. I tend to do a lot of things with large, budget-friendly cuts and then eat them for several days in a row. Cooking your meat with healthy fat makes it taste even better!

the Primal eating guide, from http://www.marksdailyapple.com

If you are curious about learning more about the Primal lifestyle, there’s tons of info on the web! My favorite website is Mark’s Daily Apple, which has lots of great, free stuff. I did end up buying the Kindle editions of a few of his books, but you can find everything you need for free.

Here’s a few good places to start:

Primal Blueprint 101: A fantastic list of some of the resources available on Mark’s Daily Apple. This will answer the majority of your questions.

How to Succeed With the Primal Blueprint: A short, sweet summary of the basics

The Definitive Guide to Fats: Or, Why Fat Is Not The Devil

HuntGatherLove: A great roundup of resources

I know this isn’t for everyone, but if you are the slightest bit curious, just try it. Give it 2 weeks, and see how you feel. I think you’ll like it!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Jill- I wanted to tell you when we saw you over the Holidays, you looked wonderful. Not only physically, but I could tell there was more bounce in your step as well. Your overall appearance seemed so healthy! I am so glad for you that these changes have paid off! Keep it up!

Erin

Comment by Erin

Thanks, Erin! For me, the improved health and energy far outweigh the weight loss (although that’s exciting, too!).

Comment by becomingjill

Wowie Zowie! This sounds so awesome Jill! I’m glad you found something that works for you and makes you feel good 🙂 I love hearing when good things are happening to you!

Comment by Vanessa

I have a similar story. Congratulations!

Comment by lowcarbcookery




Leave a Reply

