Becoming Jill: Adventures in Adulthood


Sausage Egg Casserole Goodness!
January 26, 2012, 3:51 pm
Filed under: Food, Primal | Tags: ,

breakfast time!

They say breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and I agree! I have always loved breakfast food, and one of my favorite things about the Primal/Paleo lifestyle is getting to eat lots of yummy breakfast foods like bacon (nitrate/nitrite free!), eggs, and sausage.

I find that I feel best if I have a fairly substantial breakfast (400-500 cal) with lots of protein. I almost always have eggs, because eggs are cheap, delicious, and you can do a million things with them. I used to do omelets with lots of veggies every morning, and even though I always pre-chop my veggies, it seemed like a lot of hassle every day, plus it created lots of dishes to wash. Since I have to wash my dishes by hand, I am always looking for ways to have fewer dishes to wash 🙂

So I came up with this casserole!  Like most things I make, you can use whatever veggies you have on hand. I almost always have a big container of bell peppers (all colors) chopped up in the fridge, so I tend to put them in every time I make it.  Use what floats your boat, just make sure to get lots of veggies! I would love to try this with spinach or kale, but I never seem to have it around when I make the casserole. Maybe next time! In the casserole pictured below, I used:

  • 12 eggs (cage-free, please!)
  • 1 lb sausage (try to get it as chemical free as possible! Jimmy Dean makes 100% natural sausage)
  • Bell peppers, chopped (red, orange, green, yellow)
  • onion, chopped
  • Baby portabella mushrooms, sliced
  • cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 cup extra sharp cheddar, shredded  (would probably taste great with feta or swiss!)
  • Salt, Pepper, Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute
  • butter, olive oil, or coconut oil for sauteing veggies

look at all those colors!

Heat butter and/or oil over medium heat and saute veggies about 3 minutes. When done, transfer to 9×13 casserole dish greased with olive oil. In the same skillet, brown the sausage and then add that to the casserole dish as well. In a large bowl, beat together eggs and seasonings. Add shredded cheese, then pour into the casserole dish. Mix all ingredients together to make sure there’s an even distribution before baking at 350 for 30 minutes. Let it sit for a few minutes before slicing. I cut it into 6 large pieces, but 8 small would work, too.

This reheats really well, and is an easy make-ahead breakfast. Cook on the weekend, then just grab a piece out of the fridge and stick it in the microwave every morning! I tend to do a lot of meals this way– for me, eating healthy is much easier if I set myself up for success. If I have healthy food ready to go (or quickly assembled, like pre-chopped veggies for salad) I will eat that quite happily! If I am starving and am faced with the option of cooking from scratch or ordering chinese, I don’t always make good decisions…

Based on the food tracking website I use (www.myfitnesspal.com) one serving of this has:

  • 407 calories
  • 2 grams carbs
  • 31 grams fat (the Primal lifestyle recommends getting 60% of your daily calories from natural, healthy fat)
  • 27 grams protein

I always have a 1/4 cup of blackberries with breakfast– lots of good vitamins and such, and very low sugar.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

