Becoming Jill: Adventures in Adulthood


Spicy Roasted Chicken Drumsticks and Guacamole
January 15, 2012, 11:47 am
Filed under: Food, frugality, Primal | Tags: ,

I am working on a longer post about my switch to the Primal/Paleo way of life and eating, but in the meantime, here’s what I made for dinner last night:

please pardon my sub-par food-styling-and-photography skills!

It was super easy, super delicious, and super nutritious! A winning trifecta of NOM. Oh, and it was cheap, too. WINNING!

I borrowed the drumstick recipe from The Pioneer Woman, and decided to use my homemade taco seasoning instead. I think it turned out really great! Here’s what I did:

  • 6 chicken drumsticks, skin-on (I can’t afford organic, grass-fed meat, but I do my best to get it w/o hormones and antibiotics)
  • 1/2 stick butter (next time, I will add a TB or two of coconut oil to the butter)
  • 1 batch taco seasoning (you could use any spice mixture you want, but I did taco so I could eat it with guacamole)
  • 2 TB lime juice

Jill’s Homemade Taco Seasoning

  • 1 TB chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 freshly ground black pepper
  • dash cayenne pepper, or to taste

Melt butter over high heat. Stir in spice mixture and lime juice (the original recipe called for lemon, but I only had lime, and it worked great). Working one drumstick at a time, use tongs to place drumstick in pot and completely coat in butter. Transfer to baking pan with roasting rack. When all 6 drumsticks have been coated and placed on rack, roast at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. Turn heat up all the way or to broil for a minute or two at the end.

This was hands-down the best chicken I have ever made! I have never liked making chicken, because it always seems dry and flavorless. Once I switched to buying higher-quality meat, the flavor improved tremendously, but I was still disliking the dryness. Let me tell you, this chicken is anything but dry! I had juice actually running down my chin– it was really attractive! But seriously– great flavor and superbly juicy. I will be trying this method for thighs and breasts in the future. Thanks, Pioneer Woman!

I ate my drumsticks with a big helping of guacamole, which is full of good fat and lots of fun antioxidants. It’s not hard to make your own, so if you are in the habit of buying yours at the store, STOP! In under 10 minutes, you can make it yourself and know that it’s 100% healthy.

Here’s what I use:

  • 4 ripe avocados, peeled and smushed (it’s a technical term)
  • cherry tomatoes, halved (use as many as you like– I like lots)
  • 1/4 onion, chopped (I prefer red, but I mostly use yellow because I always have them)
  • 4-6 cloves garlic, minced (mmmm, garlic)
  • dash sugar (you want just a tiny hint of sweetness, but not much)
  • 1-2 TB lime juice (or lemon if that’s the way you go)
  • seasoned salt, to taste

I like to add the onion very last thing, and in small amounts, because if your onion is old, you can get overpoweringly oniony FAST. I don’t like spicy guac, but if you do, add chopped jalepenos or cilantro!

I eat lots of guac, because it’s a really easy, tasty way to get healthy fat. I am still getting used to eating it without tortilla chips, but I’ve found that it’s great with chopped veggies. I must admit that I mostly just eat it with a spoon, though… YUM!

So, I made dinner from start to finish in about 35 minutes, and it was grain-free, additive-free, almost sugar-free, and low dairy (Primal allows for some full-fat dairy, but it upsets my tummy mightily. I should probably switch to using clarified butter, but I am lazy. You could make this entirely with coconut oil, but I love me some butter). I will definitely be making this many, many more times– I always need cheap, fast, high-protein, DELICIOUS meals in my arsenal!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

