Becoming Jill: Adventures in Adulthood


Chapter 20: In Which I am Thankful My Dad Didn’t Die
January 6, 2011, 7:34 pm
Filed under: Positive Thoughts, Uncategorized

So, remember back in early November when I said I was going home for 2 weeks to help my dad recover from surgery? Well, that 2 weeks turned into 6 plus 2 major holidays, and my dad nearly died of septic shock.

I’ve been putting off writing about it, because I have basically been in recovery mode since returning to MN about a week ago, plus I’ve been sick. However, today seemed to be the right day!

Basically, when Dad’s catheter was removed after a month, he got a really bad bladder infection, which put e. coli into his bloodstream (sepsis). Being a man, he was refusing to let me take him to the doctor until he was bad enough that he had to go to the ER. He was then admitted to the hospital on IV drugs, and we thought he was going to be fine. The next day, his fever spiked to 105, his oxygen levels dropped to the 60 percents, and he really almost died. Luckily, my aunt was spending the night in his hospital  room and was able to run and get help, and he was transferred up to the ICU and changed to different drugs. He spent a few days in the ICU before returning back to a regular room and finally getting discharged a few days before Christmas. After all that, he still had to have IV antibiotics 3 times a day for 12 days! That e. coli sure doesn’t mess around…

So, needless to say, the holidays were a bit stressful and chaotic, but we were all really glad that dad is making a good recovery! He went back to work on Monday, and is doing great, although he’s pretty tired. So, public service announcement: if you suspect you have sepsis, get thee to the ER!

 

 

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dear Jill, sorry to read about what happened to your dad. I can relate – I’ve been in hospital three times during the past few months, I was treated in High Care – going down due to a diabetic coma (I’ m a diabetic now, blood sugar count was a whopping 38.7), then getting bladder infection, having catheters inserted (twice), and even having a blocked bladder – blockages due to blood clots. But I am also recovering. I thank our Lord!

Comment by Piet Venter

Wow, sorry to hear about your troubles! Glad you are doing better, and hopefully things will start looking up soon! My dad is also diabetic, so I am sure that was not helping his situation, either.

Comment by becomingjill

So, Jill, have you thought about nursing school? Glad he is better, and so are you. Happy 2011!

Comment by jean bollinger

ha! definitely not! I got all the nursing I never wanted in 2010, between my mom’s knee surgery, my Papa Coats’ hip replacement, helping with Grandma Denzel, and my dad’s surgery… I can say with certainty that nursing is NOT for me!

Comment by becomingjill




Leave a Reply

