Becoming Jill: Adventures in Adulthood


Chapter 18: In Which I Feel Like Crap, But Fall In Love With A Vacuum Cleaner
January 4, 2011, 5:50 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Ummm, yeah. The title pretty much sums up today’s post! I’ve been fighting with a sinus infection since mid-December, and it reared its snotty green head again today. I’ve spent most of the day in bed, and was having trouble coming up with a positive thought… All the things I knew I should be grateful for (food, shelter, comfy bed, etc) were overshadowed by the OMG, MY FACE IS GOING TO EXPLODE!

But THEN! But then… I thought back to yesterday to the miraculous thing that occurred: I fell in love with a vacuum cleaner! I know you are thinking that I probably need a bit more excitement in my life, but YOU try living in 250 sq ft with 2 long-haired cats, and then see how you feel upon the purchase of a vacuum that actually vacuums!

Since the place is so small, I couldn’t bring my quite nice real vacuum with me, and have been getting by with an aging handheld doohickey. I finally got fed up with the thing conking out after 3 minutes of use, and decided to use a little bit of my Christmas money to buy a corded handheld with more power. It arrived yesterday, and it was LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT. It has a 20 ft cord and a motorized brush built in, which is excellent for getting fur out of upholstery. I vacuumed an entire cat out of one couch cushion! I cleaned up an entire litterbox worth of litter from the floor! It even straightened my hair! OK, not so much on the hair, but the thing is really great. No more fur everywhere and litter underfoot! That’s a positive thought I can get behind, even after my face explodes.

the Eureka 71B, or as I like to call it, my new BFF

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sounds like it needs a nasal attachment to take care of that green snot! 🙂 sorry was that too gross? I am enjoying your positive thoughts and wishing I had the motivation to find my own. Until I do, I’m quite pleased with living vicariously through yours! Hugs

Comment by Amy Lee

thanks, Amy! I have yet to notice much difference all this positive thinking is making in my life, but hopefully soon! and yes, a snot attachment would be quite handy! 😉

Comment by becomingjill




Leave a Reply

