Becoming Jill: Adventures in Adulthood


Chapter 15: In Which I am Obviously Grateful for my Family
January 1, 2011, 6:41 pm
Filed under: Depression, Positive Thoughts

So, in counting up all the positive things in my life, the most obvious place to start is with my family. Oy. How they drive me nuts! But underneath it all, we all love each other (I hope) and that’s always a good thing.

My family is kind of complicated due to divorce and remarriage, etc. but one thing I really like is that we are constantly absorbing new people and making them part of the big group. We even claim people who aren’t related! Our holidays usually include at least one or two “adopted” family members, and I am pretty sure my mom likes some of my friends more than me (just kidding… I hope!) So “family” has a pretty generous definition in my life, and I am grateful for all of them, even when my Papa Coats introduces me as “my granddaughter, the Obama-lover.”

There have been several periods in my life that I wouldn’t have made it through without my family, and 2010 was one of those times. When depression hits and my life falls apart, they are there to help me put it back together again, and ensure I don’t end up out on the streets. I hope to repay them by getting my shit together and making sure that I stay on top of my depression from now on so that my life no longer spirals out of control every few years.

You really can’t chose your family, so I am happy that I got such a wonderful, supportive, inclusive one!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

