Becoming Jill: Adventures in Adulthood


2010: A Most Uncomfortable Year
January 1, 2011, 6:27 pm
Filed under: Depression, frugality, Updates

So, 2010 kinda sucked in a lot of ways. My depression returned, I lost my job, I lost my step-grandma, and I spent a lot of the year in Missouri helping my various relatives recover from their various surgeries. Of course, it wasn’t ALL bad! I got to spend a lot more time with my family than normal, due to the unemployment and subsequent unskilled-nursing. I found a new depression medication that seems to be working, even if I’m not 100 percent back to normal, whatever that is. I learned a lot about financial responsibility, and how to live a lot more frugally. I started writing more, due to this blog, and working on my NaNoWriMo novel (I didn’t meet the deadline, but I’ll keep going!) I think I did a lot of growing up in between the adult-diaper-changing and the bank-account-balancing. Growth is rarely comfortable, however, so I didn’t always enjoy all these lessons!

I’ve been thinking a lot about non-medication ways I can help alleviate my depression, and one of the things I return to is trying to cultivate a more positive outlook on life. I am not even sure if this IS something that can be cultivated, but more positive thoughts can’t be a bad thing, right? To that end, I am planning to blog daily about one positive thing in my life. Hopefully it will be good for my brain as well as my writing! I fully anticipate that things might get a bit esoteric (i.e., “I’m thankful for grass! It’s green and pretty!”) but I think the exercise in positive thinking  will benefit me in lots of ways.

Of course, I am still working on the whole adulthood-thing, so I plan to keep writing about that, as well. I definitely think I grew up a lot this year (AND turned 30, ugh!) but there’s still a lot of work to do. Thanks for coming along for the ride!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

