Becoming Jill: Adventures in Adulthood


Depression Hurts… Cymbalta Can Help! Hopefully…
October 29, 2010, 8:58 pm
Filed under: Depression, NaNoWriMo, Updates

So, per my doctor’s instructions, I got myself hooked up with a psychiatrist and therapist, in hopes of eventually returning to semi-human status. My psychiatrist switched me from Paxil to Cymbalta. He says the Cymbalta has a lot more “get up and go,” which I could definitely use in my life. I’ve only been on it about a week, so I haven’t noticed much of a difference yet, other than a few dizzy spells, and some crazy dreams, that I think are more related to dredging up memories than the new medication.

I had a wonderful birthday weekend, and have survived several days of being 30! My wonderful friends arranged a trip to 3 different wineries for tours and tastings, and then we capped off the day with a bonfire, yummy food and wine, and good company. An excellent time was had by all! At least I hope so…

 

with my favorite girls at Winehaven Winery

My mom and Larry sent me flowers via my best friend Karen, so that was a nice surprise! I’ve had to keep them high up so Kitten can’t eat them or knock them over, tho.

 

pretty birthday flowers!

I’m looking forward to beginning my NaNoWriMo novel on Monday! I’ve been working on characters and plotting, but I can’t officially begin writing til November 1st. I decided to do a novel set in the Regency Era, since I know lots about it and will have to do minimal research. I am billing it as as “Jane Austen meets Jane Eyre.” I don’t have a title yet, but I am super excited to get started!

We had a first few little snowflakes this week, which made me happy! I love snow, and I can’t wait for the first big storm.

I’ve been toying with the idea of posting my novel on the blog as I go along, but I haven’t made any definite decisions… thoughts?

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

oooh, tough call on the novel. I would love to read it, but I’m not sure if I’d rather read it in little pieces or big chaptery chunks! I’m so excited that you’re doing this – and a tad envious too I must say 🙂 Okay I just decided that YES! I want to follow along and see the process. Please update us regularly on your novel! Maybe you could have a whole separate blog just for that! Luv U!

Comment by negativealtitude




Leave a Reply

