Becoming Jill: Adventures in Adulthood


A New Chapter
September 9, 2010, 8:29 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Denzel Barkley 1914-2010

My wonderful Grandma Denzel passed away this evening. She had been very peaceful all afternoon, and as her breaths came more slowly, she simply drifted away. My mom, step-sister, and I were all in the room with her, and it was so quiet that it took a while to realize that she wasn’t going to take another breath. While I am sad for us all to lose her, I am so glad that this long journey is over, and she’s on to a new chapter.

At one point in the afternoon, she looked up with a wonderful smile, and lifted her hand to the ceiling. While I wasn’t there to witness it, I feel better knowing that she saw something that made her so happy and peaceful. I am so glad that her death was quiet and calm, and that she didn’t linger any longer as a shell of her formal self. I hope everyone I love will be so lucky.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Beautiful post Jill. I am so sorry for your loss, and still remember meeting Grandma D on my trip to St. Louis that summer. She made awesome pie and was so sweet herself 🙂 My heart goes out to your and your family. I am glad you were there with them during this time. Sending lots of love and hugs! Amy

Comment by amylee

Thank you so much, Amy. You made me smile! 🙂 And yes, we will definitely miss her amazing pies!

Comment by becomingjill

Dear Jill, I’ m so sorry to hear about your grandmother passing away. You folks are sad, but your gran is happy where she is, right now. Please give my condolences to your mom. God bless.

Comment by Piet Venter




Leave a Reply

