Becoming Jill: Adventures in Adulthood


Chapter 10: In Which I Re-Learn a Lesson I Should Have Learned Several Years Ago
June 29, 2010, 7:56 am
Filed under: Updates

In what I (not so) fondly refer to the Great Technology Crash of 2008, my hard drive was wiped and my cell phone died in the same day. I think something else crashed, too, but I may have blocked the memory…

Anyway, I lost nearly everything that was on my computer. I had a bunch of older documents backed up on a flash drive, but I lost an entire semester of doctoral coursework, ALL my music, photos, videos, etc. It was pretty brutal…

In the aftermath of the disaster, I bought an external hard drive, and resolved to back up my new computer religiously… True to form, my good intentions suffered somewhat in the implementation. The good news is that I did back up several times! The bad news is that I hadn’t done it since January.

Jeremy was unable to resurrect my hard drive yesterday, and once again, I lost 6 months worth of documents, photos, video, etc. Luckily I managed to salvage most of my music files this time, between the January back up and what was on my iPod already.

Since I’m no longer in school, I didn’t have as many essential documents lost in the purge, but the real kicker is that I lost the resume and cover letter I spent countless hours over in the past few months. I don’t have copies of them anywhere. Yes, I have older resumes, and I am trying to reconstruct my work, but I am really pissed. I worked hard making that resume as good as I could, and now that I have found a job posting that is the most promising I have seen, I have to do it all over again before I can apply!

Of course, like most things in life, it’s all my own fault. So, lesson learned FOR REAL THIS TIME. Full backups every month. Online backups for documents. Got it.

In other news, we are having a series of gorgeous days here in the Twin Cities. Maybe I’ll work on my resume in the yard!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

