Becoming Jill: Adventures in Adulthood


Chapter 6: In Which I Enjoy Domesticating Myself. Surprise Ensues
March 26, 2010, 5:28 pm
Filed under: Food, frugality | Tags: , ,

So, I have spent the last week working on a post about all my different financial goals, but you know what? That post is pretty much boring me to death! Of course, it’s important for me to get that one finished, as it’s a key component of this whole financial reformation of mine, but on this pretty Friday, I find that what I really want to write about is baking.

WHAT, you may say? That’s right, baking.

I’ve never been much of a baker… it’s always required too much attention to detail for me. When cooking, I can pretty much choose to ignore or improvise large parts of recipes, and I pretty much measure by saying, “hey, that looks like a cup!” If you have any acquaintance with baking, you realize that it’s actually a SCIENCE, which probably has a lot to do with why I have never liked it.

Baking and I have never gotten along very well. I think it all stems from the traumatic summer when I decided to master… BOXED BROWNIES. I probably wasn’t even 10 yet, and this seemed like a REALLY BIG DEAL. I specifically remember at least 2 flops in a row– one time, I forgot the eggs, another I forgot the oil. Being greeted by pan after pan of completely flat, burned brownie pancake can really do a number on a young baker’s psyche!

In middle school, I decided I didn’t hate making cookies quite so much if I listened to Green Day on my Walkman at the same time! This led to the disastrous incident in which I used 2 TABLESPOONS of salt instead of 2 TEASPOONS. Details, details. Let me tell you, there is no recovering from that kind of error!

In high school, there was the infamous time I decided to double a batch of chocolate chip cookies, but forgot to double the FLOUR. Those were some really rich cookies!

As you can see, my relationship with baking has been rather fraught, and since my family is filled with excellent cooks and bakers, there’s never really been a need to overcome this slight imperfection in my make-up. However, my financial situation since I started AmeriCorps hasn’t really left me with a lot of money to spend on yummy things! I eventually came to the conclusion that making my own would be cheaper, and healthier too, since I could control what goes in them. I have a lot of free time on my hands, since I can’t really afford to be out spending money all over the place, so I eventually found myself… BAKING. Weird, right?

And here’s the thing– I actually LIKE it! I have discovered a lot about myself in the past year or so, but this has been one of the more unexpected things. Baking (and to a lesser degree, cooking) has always stressed me out, irritated me, and made me feel inadequate. I have decided that this is because I a) set impossibly high standards for myself in all things, and b) treat baking (and to a lesser degree, cooking) like I am competing for the prize in a Top Chef Quickfire Challenge. Why have I always approached baking and cooking like someone is timing me with a stopwatch? I have no idea!

Living in a studio the size of a shoebox with a kitchen the size of a postage stamp has effectively forced me to stop behaving like a Tasmanian devil in the kitchen, and as a result, I enjoy the whole process a lot more! My kitchen is set up in such a way that there are no counters at all (I repeat, NONE) and really limited space to move, store things, or what have you. I do all my food prep on top of the stove (precarious!) or on the small walnut table that previously belonged to my step-grandma. If you’ve looked at any of the pictures of food I’ve posted, you’ve seen this table. It’s pretty much the most useful thing in my apartment! Since my prep space is so limited, I am forced to only do one thing at a time, and then clean it up before proceeding to the next step. This makes the whole process take a LOT longer than I was used to, but I eventually started to relax and realize I am enjoying myself!

Here’s a list of some of the things I have baked FROM SCRATCH(!) in my tiny kitchen:

  • Chocolate chip cookies
  • Brownies
  • Ginger-Molasses cookies
  • Gingerbread
  • No-Knead Bread
  • Banana Bread
  • Cherry-Chocolate Chip Scones
  • No-Bake Chocolate-Oatmeal Cookies
  • Cornbread

There are lots of things I still want to try!

  • Pumpkin Bread
  • Pumpkin Scones
  • Zucchini Bread
  • Flat bread
  • Sourdough bread
  • Buttermilk biscuits
  • Truffles
  • Double-Chocolate Candy Cane Cookies
  • Shortbread
  • Pound cake (for Trifle!)
  • Pizza dough
  • Whole wheat No-Knead Bread

One problem I haven’t been able to overcome is the lack of equipment. I only have 2 small cabinets to store things in, so when I was packing to move, I had to be really careful about what I brought with me. Really useful things like the blender and muffin tins didn’t make the cut. I had to send home my pizza pan and cookie sheets because they didn’t fit in my tiny oven! I definitely don’t have the room (or money!) for wonderful things like a food processor or a stand mixer. I do have a hand mixer, but due to space limitations, it’s kind of a pain to get to. I have to rule out some recipes I would like to try if they involve equipment I don’t have, but I can figure out how to work around it a lot of the time. I just wish I could make pesto and hummus! Alas.

I am proud of one thing, though! I knew I wasn’t going to have any room for pantry goods once I stored all my dishes, so I came up with quite an ingenious solution, I think! Since I am such an insane reader, I have tons of bookshelves, and since my studio is so small, many of the books and shelves would be staying behind. I decided to bring one of those cheap 5-shelf Target affairs and turn it into a pantry! Larry was able to wedge it in next to the stove, and Mom and I used a small suspension rod and the curtains she made for my very first apartment to disguise the contents. It works wonderfully, and I don’t know what I would do without it!

To keep the chaos under control in such a small space, I have to keep everything pretty organized, but I guess that’s good for me anyway. For me, being really poor has had a lot of unexpected upsides! I get lots of free exercise on the way to the bus, I’ve discovered I am much more resourceful than I ever knew, and I’ve found new, useful, and yummy ways to spend my time! I think this year is really going to influence how I live the rest of my life. While I am looking forward to a less-precarious financial situation, I have discovered that it takes a lot less to make me happy than I ever believed.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Finding pleasure with less is a really, really good thing. You have had to really pare down to the things that are most essential to you – a good exercise for anyone to go through! Also you forgot to mention burned cookies because you were busy reading a book and did not hear the timer!

Comment by jan

Well, that’s what I have YOU for! To remind me of all these little things I forget… 🙂

Comment by becomingjill

Ok, first, this post is truly enjoyable for me as well! I struggle with many of the same things as you, but with a insane hatred of washing dishes. Second, I will email you my pumpkin bread recipe to try out! Also, for the health aspect, you can substitute pureed fruit (such as applesauce and bananas) for oil, and can substitute flax seed + water for eggs! It changes the texture a bit, but I always like it! I’ll also email you my orange cranberry walnut loaf recipe, I think you would like it!

Comment by Ruth

Thanks, Ruth! I also have an insane hatred for washing dishes, but have finally come to terms with it after all these years… it’s just easier to DO IT than to keep putting it off! 🙂

Comment by becomingjill

As you probably know, although may not have had the fortune to experience, I love baking. My problem is always that these recipes make to many cookies, scones, etc. I am usually forced to give the goodies away, causing my husband’s co-workers to gain a lot of weight (rather than me!). What I have started doing is baking is freezing what I know I can’t eat (or will feel guilty if I do). For example, with cookies, I will cook 3 or 6. I will then scoop out the rest of the batter into cookie shaped discs and freeze them (n a cookie sheet or plate. After about 30 minutes, I take them out of the freezer, put them in a labeled zip-lock bag and put them back in the freezer. I no longer waste my baked goods and fresh cookies are only 7-10 minutes away at all times!

Comment by Stephanie

Wow, that’s the best idea EVER! I have just been giving things to friends or taking the extras to work, but I like the frozen cookie dough idea quite a bit 🙂 Do you put them in the oven frozen, or let them thaw first?

Comment by becomingjill

I just put them right into the oven (pre-heated, of course). You may have to adjust the cooking time, but I figure if Pillsbury and Tollhouse can do it, I can too!

Comment by Stephanie




Leave a Reply

