Becoming Jill: Adventures in Adulthood


Chapter 5: In Which I put myself on a schedule. Things Get Done.
March 20, 2010, 8:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

So, remember how a few weeks ago I decided to become an adult? One of the first things I decided to do was construct some sort of daily schedule, because as much as I hate to admit it, I really do function best with structure. Lame, I know. In the old days (ya know… two weeks ago…) my mornings went something like this:

6:45 Snooze

7:00 Snooze

7:15 Snooze

7:16 Mmm, the bed is nice and warm, maybe I’ll just stay home!

7:18 No, I really should get out of bed and go to work. OK, here we go!

7:21 OK, I’m up. Now, I need to get in the shower immediately.

7:22 Maybe I’ll just check my email right quick

7:29 Well, it’s important to know the weather forecast

7:31 Maybe I should get in the shower… Oh, look at this article on Slate.com!

7:45 Really should take shower

7:55 OK, seriously

8:00 Oh, look, time to call mom!

8:15 SHOWER!

8:25 Make breakfast/lunch

8:35 Feed cats, give Pip his insulin

8:45 Leave house to walk to bus

Clearly, this is not a very useful way to spend one’s morning. So, I reformed the entire system, and now I basically do the same thing at the same time every day. Let me tell you, it’s REALLY boring. I get up the moment the alarm goes off, something I have never done in my ENTIRE LIFE! I get immediately in the shower, and then I take care of kitty litter, kitty food, and kitty shots, and then make breakfast and lunch, and then it is 7:30, and I don’t leave the house until 8:45!!! Being an adult is quite dull. Of course, I have infinite capacity to entertain myself, so I spend the rest of the morning reading the news online, sweeping kitty litter, washing dishes, and the like. But still, it’s a big change, and I’m not quite used to it yet.

***

My schedule also contains lists of chores I have to do every single day, OR ELSE! Things like checking the mail, and actually opening it and dealing with it, instead of checking it weekly and then leaving it sitting on the table. Weird. Also, I have to make sure all the dishes are washed before I go to bed. I’ve been a little lax about that one in the last day or two, but I’ve generally been doing pretty well! Since I don’t have a dishwasher, I really need to stay on top of the dishes, or I won’t have anything to cook or eat with, which is how one ends up eating bagels for dinner for a week. Not that I’ve ever done that… So, anyway, dishes get done, and then I am actually motivated to cook because I don’t have a pile of dishes staring me down! You might think that living in a studio the size of a shoebox would mean that you need to clean LESS, but it actually means you need to clean MORE. Since it’s so small, it gets cluttered very quickly, and there’s no where you can go to escape… which leaves you the option of staring at the clutter, or cleaning it. I’ve discovered that if I do some basic chores every day, I don’t have to spend the entire weekend cleaning! I still give everything a good going-over, but it’s not nearly as arduous as it used to be.

Before I go to bed at night, I try to make sure I have everything ready to go for the next morning: veggies and fruit cut and packed for lunch, clothes picked out, work bag packed, clutter dealt with appropriately. I am finding that I am sleeping better, which is probably a combo of knowing that everything taken care of, and not having the constant dread of not knowing when I am going to run out of money. Now that I know I don’t have enough money, I can stop worrying about it! πŸ˜‰

I’ve always been an all-or-nothing kind of girl, so while it might seem really ridiculous to put myself on this kind of routine, it works for me. Things actually get done, I get to work on time, and my whole life functions more smoothly. I do sometimes struggle with motivation, but I know that if I cut myself some slack, the whole system will go to hell, so that tends to keep me going.

***

I also made some financial rules to go along with all of this. I know that I need to give myself a little leeway in my very tight budget, or I will soon be a VERY unhappy camper. Since I am not really the world’s most cheerful camper to begin with, that could be a situation! So, here are the little indulgences I am planning to allow:

  • Pizza delivery once a month, from Pizza Luce. If you’re going to go, go all out!
  • A yummy scone from my neighborhood coffee shop every other Friday morning
  • Netflix subscription that gives me one DVD at a time, plus unlimited online streaming
  • High-speed internet– I negotiated a pretty sweet deal with Comcast!

Of course, when Karen and I run the numbers again, some (or all…) of these might need to go away. That would be sad, but I guess part of being an adult is dealing with not having what you want. I am really reluctant to get rid of the internet, because it’s pretty much my chief source of information and entertainment. The previously mentioned coffee shop is only a block away from my apartment and has free wifi, but I have never been comfortable with using wifi without purchasing something, and that’s not really an option. Sigh.

***

In summary, being an adult is kind of a drag, washing dishes daily is a useful thing to do, and I love the internet. Also, I love everyone who sends me encouraging messages and comments! Thanks for being so wonderful and supportive– it really helps me get through the hard moments! πŸ™‚

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love these installments! Not only do I love seeing how things are progressing, but I love your voice. I feel like I’m reading a novel, and I get so excited for this woman, and then I realize “hey, she’s my friend!” Looking forward to more chapters. Also, my spring break is after this week, so you should come over here and have a cup of coffee or meal or something!

Comment by Sarah

Thanks, Sarah! That’s the best compliment ever! πŸ™‚ I would love to hang out– just let me know what time works for you, and I’ll be there with bells on!

Comment by becomingjill

Good job Jill! I struggle with the mail issue….it comes in such mass quantity on a daily basis!

Keep up the good work! Love ya!

me

Comment by auntie Karen

Jilly – schedules work better for me too! That is the only way I was able to get everything done that I have accomplished over the years! And I agree with Sarah – I really like how you write! MOM

Comment by jan

i am so in love with this blog. just discovered it. will come again. i am kinda broke, but suffer from many of the same things… you are already inspiring me to be better.

Comment by doglover

Thanks so much for your kind comment! You are also officially the first person I don’t know who has commented, so that’s extra fun! πŸ™‚ I am glad my exploits are inspiring you… good luck, and I hope you stick around!

Comment by becomingjill




Leave a Reply

